Palm Springs International Film Festival Gala Delight!

Palm Springs International Film Festival Gala Delight!

The Palm Springs International Film Festival is arguably the most prestigious event held throughout the communities of the Greater Palm Springs Oasis, and that’s saying a lot, since our beloved corner of California is home to many, many others, including internationally renowned art, music, and sporting events.  But each year the festival seems to get bigger and brighter, bringing out Hollywood luminaries to light up the desert sky.

This year’s 24th annual fest will surely prove to be another amazing affair, running at multiple movie venues in the Palm Springs Valley from Thursday, January 3 through Monday, January 14, 2013.  And although we know that it’s all about the movies, it’s undeniable that a huge part of the fun is that it’s also about the movie stars.  In recent years, fans have found everyone from Jessica, George, Brad, and Angie to Charlize, Mariah, Anthony, Tom, and Morgan gracing the red carpet!  The Palm Springs International Film Festival Awards Gala—once again hosted by the magnificent Mary Hart—takes place on Saturday, January 5 at the Palm Springs Convention Center.  Almost 2000 guests will be treated to a magnificent meal, beautiful music, and an opportunity to gaze and gawk at a group of men and women most people only know from gazing up at the silver screen—or reading their names in the credits.  Don’t be left out in the cold.  Order your tickets now to the Gala and the estimated 200 films that will be shown!  I’ll see ya there!

So far, the following have been singled out to receive honors at this years’ presentation.  Stay tuned for more…

2013 Honorees

Desert Palm Achievement Award for Acting Male:  Bradley Cooper, for “Silver Linings Playbook”

Desert Palm Achievement Award for Acting Female:  Naomi Watts, for “The Impossible”

International Star Award:  Helen Mirren

Spotlight Award:  Helen Hunt, for “The Sessions”

Ensemble Performance Award:  The cast of “Argo”

Career Achievement Award:  Sally Field

Director of the Year:  Robert Zemekis, for “Flight”

Frederick Lowe Award for Film Composing:  Mychael Danna, for “Life of Pi”

Chairman’s Award:  Richard Gere

Dec14 PSIFF DavidALee